Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19: Home

NHW COVID-19

Coronavirus (COVID-19)  Information, Research & Learning Resources

Internal NHW specific resources, staff updates, documents, forms & notices are available under the COVID-19 Response tab on the NHW Intranet and internally developed policy, procedure and guidelines are in the PROMPT database. Use the Quicklink -   Please email the Librarian with any external resources that you feel would be useful for our staff during COVID-19.   

QuickLinks

ALIA COVID-19 Literature searches

SELF-CARE TIP SHEET

First Responders First  - Microsteps for sustaining yourself during the Coronavirus crisis.

Black Dog Insitute

 

 

 

Evidence-informed workshops, resources and networks developed for Australian health professionals.

TEN – The Essential Network, an app supporting Health Professionals to manage life and work through COVID-19.  Download from here.

Cochrane_Wellbeing

undefined

Coronavirus (COVID-19): support for wellbeing in the healthcare workforce

This Special Collection brings together Cochrane evidence on interventions that may help support the wellbeing of the healthcare workforce and reducing occupational stress.

undefined

COVID-19 Literature Hub

undefined

LitCOVID is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 31360 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access. You can learn more at Chen et al. Nature (2020).

 

COVID-19 Education and Training - - - Send any certificates of completion to ERU - - -

undefined

 

Access the Elsevier COVID-19 Healthcare Hub

To make it easy for you to get the latest evidence-based practices for COVID-19, Elsevier has packaged all their clinical resources and tools into a downloadable toolkit.

Novel Coronavirus Information Center

For the benefit of healthcare professionals, medical researchers and the public, Elsevier has created a Novel Coronavirus Information Center with open access to health and medical research on the novel coronavirus COVID-19.

undefined  

Clinical Effectiveness COVID-19 Resources Available to All

In UpToDate:

COVID-19 information covers Clinical Topics; Conditions; Procedures; Disease; Lab Tests; Adult and Paediatric Drugs and Toxicology; ANZ Society Guideline Links; COVID-19 Q&A; Patient Education.

Patient Education is particularly important given the rise in COVID-19 cases in Victoria and the need for education in languages other than English.

Patient Education Discharge Instructions for COVID-19 includes General Information about COVID-19 - the signs and how it spreads; Hand Hygiene; Hand Sanitizing; Care at Home; Follow-Up Care; and Prevention is available in 19 languages listed below to address the needs of Australia’s diverse multicultural communities:

English | Arabic | ChineseChinese (Simplified)CreoleFrenchGermanGreekItalianJapaneseKoreanPolishPortuguesePunjabiRussianSpanishTagalogTurkishVietnamese

 

undefined

 

Freely available COVID-19 specific summaries:

NHW specific Policy & Guidelines are available on the intranet.  Use the PROMPT database Quicklink - 

Australian Guideline Collections:

undefined

 

Living Guidelines  

National, collaborative support for Australia’s healthcare professionals with high priority, evidence-based clinical guidelines, updated weekly with the latest research. 

 


 

 

Evidence Summaries relevant to Covid-19 in JBI 

The JBI COVID-19 Special Collection includes JBI Evidence Summaries that provide a succinct summary of the best available evidence related to a clinical topic including best practice recommendations to help clinicians mobilise evidence into practice, and JBI Recommended Practices that provide standardised, detailed descriptions of best practice care procedures. These resources align with the WHO guidance on infection prevention and control principals for practicing health professionals and organisations. 


 

International Guideline Collections:

NOTE:  These links relate directly to COVID-19 training resources.  Other training packages Education and Training Libguide.

Training more nurses for critical care - Rapid Upskilling in High Dependency & Critical Care for Registered Nurses

The Australian Government will fund up to 20,000 new online education places to enable Registered Nurses (RNs) to develop knowledge enabling them to assist in the delivery of care in intensive care and high dependency units across Australia.  Read the Department of Health Media Release.  For information and to enrol for the course go to SURGE Critical Care.


 

DoH COVID-19 Infection Control Training - Registration reguired.  


 

Critical Care Essentials for Nurses
This online short course, sponsored by Safer Care Victoria, has been specifically designed as a rapid upskill program to support registered nurses (RNs) caring for critically ill patients during the COVID-19 pandemic.
The course aims to provide foundational knowledge required for RNs to safely assess, plan and provide supportive care to patients with acute respiratory failure as a result of COVID-19 infection.  
More information - FAQs.   Click here to Enrol.


WHO Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) training: Online training - and OpenWHO is WHO’s new interactive, web-based, knowledge-transfer platform offering online courses to improve the response to health emergencies. OpenWHO enables the Organization and its key partners to transfer life-saving knowledge to large numbers of frontline responders.  This site has great COVID-19 Education packages for NHW staff.


 

Lung Foundation Australia delivers evidence-based training and education for health professionals in a variety of different modes. This site provides education for GPs, nurses, pharmacists and allied health professionals working with people with lung diseases such as COPD, lung cancer and asbestos related diseases.


 

Free Acute Oxygen Training Module

The TSANZ has published a guideline on the acute use of oxygen which provides simple, practical and evidence-based recommendations for the acute use of oxygen in adults in clinical practice.  For ease and convenience, TSANZ has turned this guideline into an interactive online training module for medical professionals. This online training module captures the key concepts of the original document in a user-friendly way.


 

Hand Hygiene Practices - Online learning modules are available to support healthcare worker education on hand hygiene practices and hand hygiene auditor training. 


 

COMPASS  aims to enable health care professionals to recognise the deteriorating patient and initiate appropriate and timely interventions. Make sure to skip the intro, then use the bottom right arrows to move through the pages.  At the end of the course, please screenshot the certificate and email to ERU@nhw.org.au​


 

Medcram provides good video resources for a quick refresher and basics learning of mechanical ventilation.

 

Practising self-care has never been so important as it is right now. So we’ve planned a series of webinars to promote conversations within organisations about the importance of self-care and protecting and supporting the wellbeing of the workforce.

First webinar: Self-care and wellbeing while working on the healthcare frontline - 12.30pm, Monday 31 August (recordingThis webinar will help you reduce feelings of stress, anxiety and depression you may be experiencing, and give you strategies and information to support colleagues.

Moderated by Victoria’s Chief Allied Health Officer Adj Assoc Prof Donna Markham, our panel of wellbeing champions and experts will reflect on:

  • the impacts of COVID-19
  • what it means for frontline healthcare workers
  • what you can do to recognise and support your own wellbeing and that of your colleagues.

View the recording here and help us share it with your colleagues.

 

 

Physiotherapy Cardiorespiratory ICU Training Materials available through the NSW Health Education and Training Institute

Due to significant demand, HETI has made available online, the webcast recording and training resources for the 2-day Virtual Cardiorespiratory ICU (APA level 2) training course held on 28 & 29 March, 2020.

The virtual training was hosted by the Ministry of Health and HETI in partnership with the Australian Physiotherapy Association. The training supports physiotherapy staff to function effectively in health district ICUs with increasing cases of COVID-19. The training focuses on methods to wean patients off ventilators as a priority to save lives.  Clinicians external to NSW Health can access the materials by registering through the HETI Moodle page.   Available from this page


 

Digital Health CRC have also confirmed that they will be hosting a further webinar focusing specifically on Allied Health, and we will forward these details as soon as they become available.


 

Expert Insights on COVID-19 with Elsevier

Elsevier has created a new podcast series for front-line clinicians and providers. In this this three-part series, experts share their insights into the mode of transmission and pathophysiology of the virus, how medical informatics and telemedicine are used to manage the pandemic, and best practices for emergency nursing crisis preparedness.

 

 

The first episode — SARS-CoV-2 Infection: Transmissibility, Pathophysiology and Treatment —  discusses mode of transmission of SARS-CoV-2 during asymptomatic and presymptomatic state, pathophysiology and disease progression, and touches on treatment options and vaccine development. 

The second episode — COVID-19 and Emergency Preparedness — features an expert on emergency crisis preparedness who discusses best practices and standards of care regarding isolations, triage, testing, the changing dynamic of PPE, and supporting patients, families and staff in the current crisis. 


 

Medcram provide a good video resource for a quick refresher and basics learning of mechanical ventilation.

Respiratory & Cardiac Assessment / by Emily Wakeman, ERU

This video provides education on safely performing respiratory and cardiac assessment on your patient. This education session is in response to the COVID-19 virus and will allow staff to be prepared when assessing and caring for all patients.​

To watch this video you will need to set up an account for Microsoft Stream.  Click on the link below and use your NHW email and usual NHW password.

Watch Video now


 

Staff eLearning

In partnership with the University of South Australia’s (UniSA) School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences, Rehsen/Kineo has developed the “COVID-19 Coronavirus Prevention” course to provide learners with an understanding of:  

  •  what the COVID-19 Coronavirus is and the risk it presents  
  • how we can help prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

Please complete the COVID-19 Coronavirus Prevention eLearning package which is available under the My eLearning page on ReHSeN and will take approximately 10- 15 Minutes to complete.

If you need assistance to access this online learning please contact the Education & Research Unit NHW ERU Admin eruadmin@nhw.org.au

For further information please visit the World Health Organisation website   https://openwho.org/courses/introduction-to-ncov


 

Donning and Doffing PPE

If you have not yet completed your practical competency or need a refresher of the procedure a video demonstration of donning and doffing is also available.

https://youtu.be/RZA49hkBTmA

Practical competencies for donning and doffing PPE are currently in action for all clinical staff.

 

COVID-19 article search 

View search results of the latest full text journal articles on COVID-19 - Athens account required for offsite access - contact the Librarian if you don't have one.

undefined

LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 31360 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access. You can learn more at Chen et al. Nature (2020) or our FAQ, and download our data here.

Additional Literature Searches

undefined

 

Coronavirus: Resources for Anxiety & Stress

Feelings of anxiety are common in the uncertainty of COVID-19. Black Dog Institute’s tools and resources can be accessed by anyone, anywhere to help deal with this stress.  If you are looking for ways to look after your mental health, please explore these pages that have been loaded with evidence-based resources and information designed for:

  • general feelings of anxiety and stress
  • schools and young people
  • workplaces and working from home
  • health professionals – guides and resources for patients
  • provision of evidence, policy and sector collaboration

 

undefined

Coronavirus Mental Wellbeing Support Service‎ -  A free, 24/7 national support service. Sign up for regular emails with information, advice and support for you & your loved ones. Community forums. Free support options. Coping strategies. Chat Online.


 

undefined

The Pandemic Kindness Movement, created by clinicians across Australia, works together to support health workers during the COVID-19 pandemic. This page contains links to valuable services to support the wellbeing of the health workforce.


 

undefined

Going Rural Health’s online course in Resilience, Wellbeing and Self-Care has been developed to help participants reflect on the notion of self-care and, through careful thought management, learn about ways of thinking and acting that are “kinder to self”.


 

undefinedMensLine Australia is a telephone and online counselling service for men with emotional health and relationship concerns.


 

Tips for coping with coronavirus anxiety 

This information sheet outlines some useful strategies which can help both adults and children cope with the stress or anxiety experienced as a result of the coronavirus outbreak.


 

Additional Health and Wellbeing Links:

  • Mindspot : 11 Psychological Tips for Frontline Staff - The challenges for frontline staff working during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic are significant. You are not only serving the community but you also trying to stay healthy, while often worrying about the health of family and friends. This document describes 11 practical psychological skills to help front line staff stay mentally resilient during this challenging time
  • Mental health resources - coronavirus (COVID-19) - We recognise the feelings of anxiety and concern many people may be experiencing during this time.  This page from DHHS provides some important and helpful advice from Beyond Blue, clinical psychologist Dr Michelle Lim and Lifeline Australia.
  • eheadspace - Free support, counselling to young people, their families and friends

  • Lifeline Australia - 24 hour crisis support and suicide prevention services

  • R U OK? - Everyday resources for the workplace, school and community

  • SANE Australia - Services to help support all Australians affected by complex mental health issues

  • InSightTimer - free app for sleep, anxiety and stress.


ABC Coronacast

ABC Coronacastwith Dr Norman Swan and Tegan Taylor, is a podcast that helps to answer your questions about coronavirus or COVID19. We break down the latest news and research to help you understand how the world is living through an epidemic.

Infection Control Training

undefined

COVID-19 infection control training

AS A PRIORITY, all workers in residential aged care are encouraged to complete online training about COVID-19 infection control and PPE:

ACSQHC

undefined

undefined

COVID-19: Infection prevention and control risk management 

Health service organisations are required to prepare and implement an organisation-wide Risk Management Plan to manage and reduce the risks related to the transmission of COVID-19.  The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the Commission) has developed advice to support health service organisations to undertake a COVID-19 risk assessment and develop a comprehensive Risk Management Plan. 
The fact sheet COVID-19: Infection prevention and control risk management is now available.

Donning and Doffing PPE

University of Melbourne

undefined

FREE COVID-19 COURSES
The University of Melbourne have developed a series of courses to help upskill and support our healthcare practitioners.

Compassion Fatigue: The Cost of Caring 

Recognise, understand and prevent compassion fatigue in health professionals and professionals in training.  Designed for Medical (ICU, Emergency Department, Acute Medical Wards, Psychiatry), nursing, allied health professionals (clinical psychologists, clinical neuropsychologists, social workers) and students  Available Now

undefinedThis course will provide clinicians with resilience tools that they can use to improve their wellbeing under the normal stresses of clinical work and also in times of upheaval, such as during the COVID-19 pandemic Available Now

undefined

Identify early lung pathology for detection of respiratory complications in COVID-19 patients. Designed for all medical, nursing and paramedical staff involved in assessing the lungs as part of clinical care.  Available Now

 

undefined

This course will provide the Australian health workforce with evidence-based information and language to confidently address questions surrounding COVID-19 from patients, colleagues and the general public.  Available Now

 

undefinedThe COVID-19 pandemic has created new clinical ethics challenges for clinicians. Public health considerations are shaping individual patient care. Situations of resource scarcity have brought fair allocation into the foreground of clinical practice. Clinicians’ personal risk of infection has generated difficult ethical challenges.dilemnas that will arise due to COVID-19  Available Now