Recommended Databases

The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database covers the literature of nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, nutrition and dietetics, and other health-related professions.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) provides a search that allows the user to search across all databases and full-text e-content available at Northeast Health Wangaratta in one search location. The results will be from both NHW collections and the Clinicians Health Channel resources. It is an easy search option to locate full text content available locally in a short space of time. However we do not recommend the use of EDS for comprehensive searching - it is "Best Practice" to search each individual database separately.

Looking for a particular book, journal, or newspaper? Publication Finder is a state-of-the-art knowledge base search service for locating publications in NHW's collection, regardless of publisher or provider.

Predominantly Nursing and Allied Health Australasian health information, Informit Health Collection covers more than 190 source titles, including peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, conference papers and e-books. Coverage is 100% full text and includes evidence-based healthcare extending to all nursing specialties and professions.

MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, Pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. The Ovid MEDLINE database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and in 70 other countries. The database contains over 13 million citations dating back to 1950, and is updated daily.

Catalogue of the books held in the NHW Library Main and Reference collections, and the staff collections held around the NHW hospital. Also includes ClinicalKey eBooks.