An independent, evidence-based, national drug reference, the Australian Medicines Handbook is an important clinical resource for health practitioners concerned with the quality use of medicines.
BMJ Best Practice is a easy-to-use decision-support tool that provides authoritative answers to clinical questions. It contains information relating to over 10,000 diagnoses, more than 3,000 diagnostic tests and over 4,000 diagnostic and treatment guidelines. At its core, Best Practice contains the internationally renowned Clinical Evidence. Drug information is provided by Martindale: the Complete Drug Reference. Martindale can be accessed via the Drugs menu or by selecting a drug when viewing a condition or symptom.
Alternate Name(s)
Nursing and Allied Health, Pharmaceutical, Pharmacy, Occupational Therapy, Physiotherapy, Radiology, Social Work, Speech Pathology.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database covers the literature of nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, nutrition and dietetics, and other health-related professions.
CINAHL indexes many allied health related journals not covered by MEDLINE and includes citations to books, book chapters, and dissertations. There much overlap of content coverage between MEDLINE and CINAHL, but both databases should be searched to achieve comprehensive retrieval of literature related to a clinical question
ClinicalKey database offers access to medical and surgical books & journals, also medical videos and images.The database also includes drug monographs, clinical guidelines and patient education handouts.
MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, Pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. The Ovid MEDLINE database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and in 70 other countries. The database contains over 13 million citations dating back to 1950, and is updated daily.
Catalogue of the books held in the NHW Library Main and Reference collections, and the staff collections held around the NHW hospital. Also includes ClinicalKey eBooks.
The Medicine eBook Collection of over 9000 specialty books is designed to provide clinically relevant information to all members of the patient-care team, an integral part of delivering first-rate, comprehensive care.
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. It includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions information, and a number of medical calculators. NOTE: UpToDate Anywhere registration is available to NHW staff by registering from this link when onsite at NHW.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Now in its 8th edition, this valuable resource makes it easy and fast to search for abbreviations. This online version is kept current and continually has new abbreviations added. There are over 10,000 abbreviations in the dictionary which is used Australia-wide by medical and administrative personnel, clinical coders, nurses, medical record departments and allied health staff.
Designed for use in hospitals, medical institutions and academic institutions with nursing or allied health programs, this subscription collection features more than 600 hand-selected, quality e-books that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
Providing access to over 800 drug monographs, The Renal Drug Database is a key source of prescribing information for clinical and medicines information pharmacists. This comprehensive resource benefits from regular content reviews and updates to ensure it continues to provide trusted and timely information
The Medicine eBook Collection of over 9000 specialty books is designed to provide clinically relevant information to all members of the patient-care team, an integral part of delivering first-rate, comprehensive care.
