Our Northeast Victorian community is diverse and growing, and that growth is resulting in increased demand for our services. It is imperative that we understand and listen to our community, and work alongside them to shape the future of our health service. Within the Rural City of Wangaratta 16% of residents were born overseas and 1.3% are Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander[1] In addition, and in line with the rest of Australia, North East Victoria is ageing on average, with a median age of 45 years.[2] This library guide provides a collection of resources to support to NHW staff and assist in the provision of culturally, spiritually and inclusively appropriate care to every patient, every time.
Inclusive Victoria:State Disability Plan 2022–2026 is available in accessible formats, including easy read, braille, audio and Auslan at vic.gov.au/state-disability-plan.
The Disability Services Commissioner (DSC) is an independent oversight body resolving complaints and promoting the right of people with a disability to be free from abuse.
Inclusion Australia (NCID) is the national peak body for intellectual disability. We focus on issues that affect the lives of people with intellectual disability and their families.
Community Links:
A Disabled People's Organisation (DPO) with great resources.
Health Care for People with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Across the Lifespan by
This book provides a broad overview of quality health care for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD). It focuses on providing the reader a practical approach to dealing with the health and well-being of people with IDD in general terms as well as in dealing with specific conditions. In addition, it offers the reader a perspective from many different points of view in the health care delivery system as well as in different parts of the world. This is the 3rd, and much expanded edition, of a text that was first published by Rubin and Crocker in 1989 (Lea and Fibiger). The second edition was published by Rubin and Crocker in 2006 (Paul Brookes) and has been used as a formal required text in training programs for physicians, nurses and nurse practitioners as well as by administrators who are responsible for programs serving people with IDD. This book is considered the “Bible” in the field of health care for people with IDD since 1989 when the first edition came out.
Physical Health of Adults with Intellectual Disabilities by
This fully revised and expanded second edition brings together findings from research and clinical practice, with comprehensive coverage of the important aspects of physical health in persons with intellectual disability. Professionals involved in the medical and social care and support of persons with intellectual disability should have a broad understanding of the essential range of issues, and therefore this book provides a truly multi-disciplinary perspective, complete with many tables, figures, and illustrations to underline the key points.
Promoting the Health and Well-Being of People with Learning Disabilities by
This textbook presents a practical guide for new and experienced health or social care staff, helping them promote the health and well-being of people with learning disabilities. Given the considerable demand for mandatory training on supporting people with learning disabilities, especially in England, the book provides a valuable resource for all training courses on working with people with learning disabilities.
Disability As Diversity by
This first-of-its-kind title is designed to help deans, program directors, faculty, student affairs personnel and disability resource professionals thoughtfully plan for the growing population of health-care professionals with disabilities.
Nurses with Disabilities: Professional Issues and Job Retention by 
Carers : Ageing and Disability by 
Living with Chronic Illness and Disability by 
Medical and Psychosocial Aspects of Chronic Illness and Disability by 
Medical Aspects of Disability for the Rehabilitation Professional, Fifth Edition by 
The disability support worker by 
Multicultural Centre for Women's Health has a specialist library of women's health information for migrant and refugee communities in over 70 languages including easy-to-read English. Browse the online catalogue of multilingual library resources and learning materials that support advocacy, education, training and knowledge sharing with women from migrant and refugee backgrounds.
Would you like information in different languages? Do you work or study with women from migrant and refugee backgrounds? Would you like to learn more about the experiences of women from migrant and refugee backgrounds.
The new children’s book the ‘Spirit of Sound’, is a collaboration with artist Davinder Hart, of the Noongar nation and is available free to organisations who work with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children across the country in an effort to raise awareness about the importance of regular hearing checks early in life. Download here | More information
The Australian Government's Department of Health Aged Care Diversity Framework provides guidance for an accessible aged care system for every care recipient..
Diversity Council Australia (DCA) is the independent not-for-profit peak body leading diversity and inclusion in the workplace. We provide unique research, inspiring events and programs, curated resources and expert advice across all diversity dimensions to a community of member organisations.
Textbook for Transcultural Health Care: a Population Approach by
This textbook is the new edition of Purnell's famous Transcultural Health Care, based on the Purnell twelve-step model and theory of cultural competence. This textbook, an extended version of the recently published Handbook, focuses on specific populations and provides the most recent research and evidence in the field. This new updated edition discusses individual competences and evidence-based practices as well as international standards, organizational cultural competence, and perspectives on health care in a global context. The individual chapters present selected populations, offering a balance of collectivistic and individualistic cultures.
Featuring a uniquely comprehensive assessment guide, it is the only book that provides a complete profile of a population group across clinical practice settings. Further, it includes a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of society, offering all health professionals a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.
Diversity and Inclusion in Quality Patient Care : Your Story/Our Story – A Case-Based Compendium by
The proliferation of literature on unconscious bias and microaggressions has raised public awareness around these concerns. This case compendium discusses strategies and addresses professional responses to bias in health care and extends beyond the individual patient and healthcare provider into the communities where biased assumptions and attitudes exist.
Diversity and Inclusion in Quality Patient Care by
No other hospital department cares for patients as diverse as those who come to the Emergency Department (ED). These patients encompass all stages and positions of life and health. Many belong to distinct minority cultures defined by the patient's sexual orientation and gender identity, disability, spirituality, language, race, and ethnicity. It has been well documented that minorities experience inadequate emergency treatment and face poorer healthcare outcomes. Furthermore, research has established that the elderly, ethnic minorities, the poor, and persons with Medicaid coverage are more likely than other people to utilize the emergency department rather than primary care services. With the passage of the Affordable Care Act, particularly the Medicaid expansion, EDs across the United States are poised to care for an unprecedented number of underserved minorities. The need to equip emergency healthcare professionals to practice medicine that is culturally competent in the broadest possible sense has never been greater. Diversity and Inclusion in Quality Patient Care aims to fill this need.
Teaching Cultural Competence in Nursing and Health Care, Third Edition : Inquiry, Action, and Innovation by 
Promoting Health Equity among Racially and Ethnically Diverse Adolescents by
Racial and ethnic minority youth have less access to health care and experience health disparities that are linked to social determinants that impact their health and well-being. This book is a practical reference for clinicians caring for racially and ethnically diverse adolescents seeking to effectively identify and address the social structures and factors that influence their health and well-being to promote health equity. It provides an overview of key health equity, population health and cultural competency principles and highlights clinical, teaching, and research skills critical to promoting health equity. Clinically oriented chapters provide guidance on strength-based approaches and strategies that clinicians can integrate in their encounters with diverse youth and feature clinical vignettes, clinical pearls and reflection questions to promote the application of concepts to practice.
Cultural Sensibility in Healthcare: A Personal & Professional Guidebook by 
Diversity and Cultural Awareness in Nursing Practice by 
Inclusive Practice for Health Professionals by 
Community Health and Wellness by 
Transcultural Concepts in Nursing Care by 
Gender Equality Act 2020
The Gender Equality Act 2020 commenced on the 31st March 2021. The Act aims to improve workplace gender equality across the Victorian public sector, universities and local councils.
We commit that all at NHW will:
We will action gender equality by:
We recognise that gender inequality may be compounded by other forms of disadvantage or discrimination that a person may experience on the basis of Aboriginality, age, disability, ethnicity, gender identity, race, religion, sexual orientation & other attributes.
We recognise that gender inequality may be compounded by other forms of disadvantage or discrimination that a person may experience on the basis of Aboriginality, age, disability, ethnicity, gender identity, race, religion, sexual orientation & other attributes.
Northeast Health Wangaratta is working towards Rainbow Tick Accreditation and inclusive practice for LGBTQIA+ patients, carers, visitors, staff and volunteers.
Rainbow Tick is an accreditation program that aims to assist organisations improve the quality of care and services they provide to their LGBTQIA+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex and asexual) consumers, staff and volunteers.
A list of local, government and support organisations and services available for LGBTIQA+ Individuals is available here on the NHW intranet.
For further information contact: Allison Leatham or Tessa Archbold on 25073 or email at rainbow.pride@nhw.org.au
The National LGBTI Health Alliance is the national peak health organisation in Australia for organisations and individuals that provide health-related programs, services and research focused on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and intersex people and other sexuality and gender diverse (LGBTI) people and communities.
Health and Gender by
This book presents a concise and comprehensive overview of the most important protective and risk factors for women's health, and reviews the main areas of medical science from a gender perspective. Numerous scientific experiments and studies have shown how gender differences significantly affect the clinical presentation of physical and mental health disorders as well as responses to treatments. This text highlights these issues, while at the same time reflecting on the practical implications of the theoretical knowledge presented. It also examines the organization of social and health services, which should increasingly take into account the specificities related to gender differences and where equality is based on truly embracing these differences. The final part provides insights into the experiences and testimonies collected by the authors of the book. Written by a multidisciplinary team of medical, psychosocial and humanities professionals, this book is of interest to health professionals and medical students.
Diversity and Inclusion in Quality Patient Care by
The proliferation of literature on unconscious bias and microaggressions has raised public awareness around these concerns. This case compendium discusses strategies and addresses professional responses to bias in health care and extends beyond the individual patient and healthcare provider into the communities where biased assumptions and attitudes exist.
Pediatric Gender Identity by
This book serves as a guide to key topics regarding pediatric gender identity to help clinicians better care for transgender and gender diverse youth. Written by experts in the field, it covers critical considerations for child health providers from a variety of disciplines in a range of clinical settings. Patients, families and other community agencies can also find useful information about current practices and recommendations for care and support. The text begins by overviewing terminology, epidemiology, gender identity development, and relevant neurobiology. Next, the text focuses on the emergence of affirmative treatment paradigms using a patient-centered, consent based framework. Topics include psychotherapeutic support, gender-affirming medical and surgical care, management of co-existing psychiatric conditions, sexual health and fertility, legal considerations, international considerations, and more.
Transgender and Gender Nonconfirming Health and Aging by
This text addresses the specific lack of clinical educational support for transgender and gender nonconforming (TGNC) individuals as they age. Chapters are written by multidisciplinary healthcare experts who present topical discussions in five critical areas: essential foundational information needed to understand the life experience of older TGNC people; mental and behavioral health issues; social service considerations; specific concerns for nurses; and unique long-term medical concerns for providers. In addition, special attention is placed on providing care for TGNC veteran populations, including strategies to access social services and Social Security, and developing support networks.
Understanding Gender Based Violence by
This edited book brings together the voices and insights of survivors, practitioners, educators and researchers working to prevent and minimise the harms of gender-based violence, with a specific focus on equipping health professionals and social workers to support victim-survivors. Practitioners can, and often do, play a critical role supporting victim-survivors of gender-based violence; however, this work has historically been carried out by those in specialist roles and there remains gaps and inconsistencies in education and training for qualifying and post-qualified professionals.
Fast Facts about LGBTQ+ Care for Nurses: How to Deliver Culturally Compe by 
Trans and Non-Binary Gender Healthcare for Psychiatrists, Psychologists, and Other Health Professionals by Inclusive Practice for Health Professionals by 
LGBTQ Cultures : what health care professionals need to know about sexual and gender diversity by A list of local, government and support organisations and services available for LGBTIQA+ Individuals is available here on the NHW intranet.
The Gender Equality Act
The Commission has published a range of guidance materials and best practice resources on our website to help defined entities to meet their obligations. Impact assessment, audits and action plans to support the implementation of the Victorian Gender Equity Act 2020
VAHI report: Health and wellbeing of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer population in Victoria: findings of the Victorian Population Health Survey 2017. The report and associated resources are now available via the Better Safer Care website.
The National LGBTI Health Alliance is the national peak health organisation in Australia for organisations and individuals that provide health-related programs, services and research focused on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and intersex people and other sexuality and gender diverse (LGBTI) people and communities.
Aged Care Diversity Framework initiative
This framework sets out how our aged care system can meet the diverse needs of all older Australians. It includes action plans for government, aged care providers and consumers. It also provides resources to help providers meet the goals of the framework.
Burgess, C., Kauth, M. R., Klemt, C., Shanawani, H., & Shipherd, J. C. (2019). Evolving Sex and Gender in Electronic Health Records. Federal practitioner : for the health care professionals of the VA, DoD, and PHS, 36(6), 271–277.
Barredo, J. O. (2020). Room Assignments, Gender Identity, and Gender Expression: A Case Study on Caring for Transgender Patients. MEDSURG Nursing, 29(4), 237–244.
Waling, A., Lyons, A., Alba, B., Minichiello, V., Barrett, C., Hughes, M., Fredriksen-Goldsen, K., & Edmonds, S. (2020). Trans Women’s Perceptions of Residential Aged Care in Australia. British Journal of Social Work, 50(5), 1304–1323
Waling, A., Lyons, A., Alba, B., Minichiello, V., Barrett, C., Hughes, M., Fredriksen, G. K., & Edmonds, S. (2019). Experiences and perceptions of residential and home care services among older lesbian women and gay men in Australia. Health & Social Care in the Community, 27(5), 1251–1259
Berkman, C., Javier, N. M., Lawton, A., Maingi, S., O’Mahoney, S., & Stein, G. (2020). Experiences of LGBT Patients and Family Members with Hospice and Palliative Care (TH352). Journal of Pain & Symptom Management, 59(2), 432–433. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jpainsymman.2019.12.086
Jacobs, R. and Ross, S. (2016). National Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender And Intersex Mental Health And Suicide Prevention Strategy: A New Strategy For Inclusion And Action. Retrieved from http://lgbtihealth.org.au/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/LGBTI_Report_Mental...
Wilson, K., Stinchcombe, A., Ismail, M., & Kortes-Miller, K. (2019). LGBTQ2+ aging in Canada: Building the evidence and informing action. Canadian Journal of Human Sexuality, 28(3), 257–260. https://doi.org/10.3138/cjhs.2018-0049
Klein, D. A., Paradise, S. L., & Goodwin, E. T. (2018). Caring for Transgender and Gender-Diverse Persons: What Clinicians Should Know. American Family Physician, 98(11), 645.
Strong Culture, Strong Peoples, Strong Families
The 10-year Agreement is built upon self-determination principles between Aboriginal community leaders and the Victorian Government to address family violence experienced by Aboriginal people.
The Agreement formalises the long-term partnership and articulates the directions required at a statewide, regional and local level to support Aboriginal people experiencing family violence, and ensure families and communities are free from violence. More Information from vic.gov.au
Anita Cooper
What is your job at NHW? I share my time between my roles as Employee Support & Wellbeing Coordinator in Human Resources, and the Aboriginal Health Service Liaison Officer for Community Health.
What does Reconciliation mean for you? An acknowledgement of history and working together, hand in hand, to develop a mutual respect to influence change. Reconciliation is everyone's business.
What do you like best about living in Wangaratta? Being close to family, culture and this beautiful countryside.
What's the strangest talent you have? I can paint with both hands. Not that I do that much anymore!
What is your favourite saying? I appreciate you.
Contact:
Tel: (03) 5722 5700 Mobile: 0447 164 626
Anita.Cooper@nhw.org.au or HR@nhw.org.au
Welcome to Country : a travel guide to Indigenous Australia by 
Cultural Safety in Trauma-Informed Practice from a First Nations Perspective by 
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples' Health and Wellbeing by 
Cultural Competence in Health by 
Health Care and Indigenous Australians by 
Yatdjuligin by 
Knowledge of Life by 
Australia's Rural, Remote and Indigenous Health by 
Ethical guidelines for research with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples
NHMRC has released two revised guidelines:
Other NHMRC ATSI Reports:
Further information and resources are available on the NHMRC website.
Cultural safety in health care for Indigenous Australians: monitoring framework
This report brings together available data to assess progress in achieving cultural safety in the health system for Indigenous Australians. The framework includes measures on culturally respectful health care services; Indigenous patient experience of health care; and access to health care services. The data are presented at the national, state and regional levels.
More AIHW Indigenous Australian Reports are available HERE
Sad News, Sorry Business: Guidelines for caring for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people through death and dying(version 2) Published by the State of Queensland (Queensland Health), December 2015 \ Download .pdf
Strong Culture, Strong Peoples, Strong Families
The 10-year Agreement is built upon self-determination principles between Aboriginal community leaders and the Victorian Government to address family violence experienced by Aboriginal people.
The Agreement formalises the long-term partnership and articulates the directions required at a statewide, regional and local level to support Aboriginal people experiencing family violence, and ensure families and communities are free from violence.
Helping to close the gap by providing the evidence base to inform practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health
Informit Health Collection, and Informit Indigenous Collection are good databases to start looking for articles relating to Australian Indigenous health. If the full text of the article you need is not available in the Indigenous Health database, please submit an article request form.
Helen Bnads, Elizabeth Orr, C John Clements, Improving the Service to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders through Innovative Practices Between Aboriginal Hospital Liaison Officers and Social Workers in Hospitals in Victoria, Australia†, The British Journal of Social Work, Volume 51, Issue 1, January 2021, Pages 77–95, https://doi.org/10.1093/bjsw/bcaa032
Northeast Health Wangaratta acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land upon which we stand and pay our respect to the Elders both past & present.
Julie Day | Librarian | Health Sciences Library | Northeast Health Wangaratta | PO Box 386, Green St, Wangaratta, VIC 3677, Australia | Tel: (03) 5722 5286 | Email: Library@nhw.org.au
