This Medicine eBook Collection comprises over 9000 books designed to provide clinically relevant information to all members of the patient-care team, an integral part of delivering first-rate, comprehensive care.
Applied Statistical Considerations for Clinical Researchers by
Evaluates the range of available methodologies in health statistics
Features a hypothetical case study that brings the subject matter to life
Enables clinicians and researchers to broaden their statistical knowledge and outlook
The Pathway to Publishing: a Guide to Quantitative Writing in the Health Sciences by
Framed around common errors, including real-world examples and solutions
Provides support for both writers and mentors
Specifically targeted to early-career authors, especially those for whom English is a second language
This book is open access, which means that you have free and unlimited access
Reporting and Publishing Research in the Biomedical Sciences by
This book eases the task of converting research work into a manuscript, and covers the recent developments in publishing that often stump budding researchers. This book is intended for young researchers who are beginning their careers and wish to hone their skills and understand the rigors of research writing and publishing.
Research Impact by
Research for research sake is no longer tenable or affordable; to be valuable to society, research must have impact! This textbook describes and explains the case for research impact, the challenges, the link between research impact and evidence informed practice, achieving impact through changing policy and engaging with the public, how researchers can make their research findings more impactful.
Developing a Successful Clinical Research Program by
This unique book is designed to help a medical team become a clinical research team. It includes practical information and tips for the initial stages of clinical research: building a team, negotiating a contract, developing a budget, and writing and improving a patient consent. Chapters describing the nuts and bolts of how to actually perform the study follow, including patient recruiting and retention, screening, follow-ups and handling monitor visits.
Medical Statistics by
This book deals with statistics in medicine in a simple way. The text is supported by abundant examples from medical data. This book aims to explain and simplify the process of data presentation. Further aspects addressed include how to design and conduct clinical trials, and how to write journal articles.
Clinical Research by
This book provides insights into how to be a productive clinical researcher via real-life case examples of successful clinical research -- and also clinical research gone awry. Through these examples of success and failure, the book develops a blueprint for building a career in clinical research.
Multilevel Modelling for Public Health and Health Services Research by
This book is a practical introduction to multilevel modelling or multilevel analysis (MLA) – a statistical technique being increasingly used in public health and health services research. The authors begin with a compelling argument for the importance of researchers in these fields having an understanding of MLA to be able to judge not only the growing body of research that uses it, but also to recognise the limitations of research that did not use it.
Using Naturally Occurring Data in Qualitative Health Research by
This highly practical resource brings new dimensions to the utility of qualitative data in health research by focusing on naturally occurring data. It examines how naturally occurring data complement interviews and other sources of researcher-generated health data, and takes readers through the steps of identifying, collecting, analyzing, and disseminating these findings in ethical research with real-world relevance.
Selecting and Implementing Evidence-Based Practice by
To improve client outcomes and practitioner competence, the book clarifies practices to address common problems such as anxiety, depression, traumatic stress, and child behavioural concerns. The authors also provide examples and suggest how to integrate implementation of evidence-based practice into academic programs through collaboration with behavioural health or social service programs.
Health Services Evaluation by
The Handbook of Health Services Research is a reference for all aspects of the field of health services and outcomes research. It addresses the increasing need for comprehensive, yet balanced, information in a field that welcomes various disciplines: medicine, public health, statistics, economics, management, policy, and information technology.
eBooksIf you are offsite you will need an Athens account to access these eBooks. Link to the book in ClinicalKey then use the login on the right hand top corner and select OpenAthens login.
Nursing and Midwifery Research: Methods and Appraisal for Evidence based Practice, Sixth Edition by 
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by 
This e-book collection includes more than 600 e-books designed for use by Nursing and Allied Health staff and students in hospitals. Includes clinical guides, and evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles. To search the eBook database contents click here.
This series comprehensively addresses leading qualitative research designs and methods from a nursing perspective. Each of the seven books discusses the theoretical rationale for using a particular design, describes its components, and delineates a practical plan to conduct studies. Utilizing a practical, problem-solving approach, the books delineate appropriate methods, ethical considerations, critical issues, and potential pitfalls. Examples of published qualitative nursing research support the new researcher in making decisions and facing challenges. Case studies follow a template that includes a description of the study, data collection and analysis, and dissemination.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by
Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today. This one-stop reference presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice.The fourth edition has been substantially updated to contain the latest research for nurse scientists, educators, and students in all clinical specialties.
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research, Fifth Edition by 
Research and Evidence-Based Practice : For Nursing, Health and Social Care Students by
Research and Evidence-Based Practice is an accessible textbook for nursing, health and social care students seeking to understand what research is and how it can provide evidence for practice. Through clear explanations, key case studies, questions and activities, the book will help you to understand the principles of research and develop your own evidence-based practice.
Using Nursing Research to Shape Health Policy by
Examining the crucial interrelationship between nursing research and health policy, this book presents examples of specific health care policy that has been influenced, implemented, or changed as a result of nursing research.
Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses by
Highly anticipated and fully updated, Anatomy of Writing for Publication for Nurses, Third Edition, is a practical and useful guide for nurses who need to bridge the gap from incomplete sentences to a published manuscript.
Your guide to research governance and ethics and getting started on the research journey at NHW.
Course duration: 30 Minutes | Login into your STRIVE account
The Australian Code for the Responsible Conduct of Research, 2018 (the 2018 Code) establishes a framework for responsible research conduct that provides a foundation for high-quality research, credibility and community trust in the research endeavour.
The Australian National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research The National Statement is intended for use by:
- any researcher conducting research with human participants;
- any member of an ethical review body reviewing that research;
- those involved in research governance; and potential research participants.
These NHMRC guidelines provide a set of principles to ensure research is safe, respectful, responsible, high quality and of benefit to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and communities.
Research is critical to advancing knowledge and improving patient care and better health outcomes. This site provides information about clinical trials and research in Victoria: https://clinicaltrialsandresearch.vic.gov.au/
The Ethical Review Manager (ERM) website is used for applications and reports to Victorian public hospitals’ research offices. Resources are available to assist research applicants using ERM.
Developing proposals that meet Research Ethics Review Committee (ERC) requirements. Includes the Recommended format for a 'research protocol'
This comprehensive 26 page Guide outlines best practice for the publication and sharing of sensitive research data in the Australian context. For a short overview see ANDS Introduction to Sensitive Data.
The World Medical Association (WMA) has developed the Declaration of Helsinki as a statement of ethical principles for medical research involving human subjects, including research on identifiable human material and data.
The Guidelines approved under Section 95A of the Privacy Act 1988 (2014)The Guidelines approved under Section 95A of the Privacy Act 1988 are issued for the purposes of Australian Privacy Principles (APPs) and sections 16B(2) and 16B(3) of the Privacy Act
NHW subscribes to some of these journals, some are open access, and some are not available. If the full text of an article is not available you can request it from the Library using the Article Request Form.
Remote access is available to NHW subscribed resources using an Athens ID and password - Login to Athens here. Not registered for Athens - Register here.
Written specifically for research specialists, clinicians, students & aspiring researchers.
RCNi Publishing - Full Text available 01.09.1993 - present
a peer-reviewed open access journal which focuses on methodological advances, innovations, and insights in qualitative or mixed methods studies.
EBSCO Open Access Journals - Full Text available 01.03.2002 - present
Health Services Research (HSR) is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal that provides researchers and public and private policymakers with the latest research findings, methods, and concepts related to the financing, organization, delivery, evaluation, and outcomes of health services.
Full text embargo for 12 months. If not available contact Librarian
Results of clinical, educational, administrative, and research studies in nursing by means of articles, letters, news, items, and abstracts.
Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus 01.01.1996 - present (use OpenAthens link)
(EBN) publishes critical commentaries and summaries of the most valid research in nursing, from other international healthcare journals
RCNi Publishing 01.01.1998 - present
The Journal of Health Services Research & Policy presents the latest scientific research, insightful overviews and reflections on underlying issues, and innovative, thought provoking contributions from leading academics and policy-makers.
Sage Journals - Limited open access, or request full text from Librarian
Qualitative Health Research (QHR) is a peer-reviewed monthly journal that provides an international, interdisciplinary forum to enhance health care and further the development and understanding of qualitative research in health-care settings.
Sage Journals - Limited open access, or request full text from Librarian
Medical Decision Making is a peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes papers in the fields of decision-making and medical informatics.
Sage Journals - Limited open access, or request full text from Librarian
This video offers some guidance on points to consider when preparing and writing a conference abstract.
The JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis is designed to provide authors with a comprehensive guide to conducting JBI systematic reviews. It describes in detail the process of planning, undertaking and writing up a systematic review using JBI methods.
World Health Organization. Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean. (2004).
JSTOR provides open access to "Research Basics", a self-paced course for students covering the basics of research skills for academic research.
Communicate Clearly : A Guide to Plain EnglishPlain language (or plain English) is everyday language written clearly, concisely and with the reader in mind. Using plain language is about safety, equity, fairness, respect, efficiency, effectiveness and customer service. It's your responsibility to make sure your audience understands what you write. A key resource on written communication is the Communicate Clearly booklet put out by 26Ten,Tasmania
Universities and their Libraries provide useful guides for starting research and writing. Many provide a lot of open access material until you link to a subscription resource. At that point you need to have a staff or student login.
University of Melbourne Research Essentials Guide Research Essentials will help you level up your researching skills, including tips and tricks on how to get the most out of your time searching, reading, and writing.
James Cook University : The Writing Guide / Getting started with Research Planning, researching, writing, referencing and drafting your assignments
UNC Health Sciences Library - Qualitative Research Resources This is a great library guide full of links to free on how to search for and evaluate qualitative research, integrate qualitative research into systematic reviews, report/publish qualitative research. Includes some Mixed Methods resources.
|
Universities and their Libraries provide useful guides for referencing. Many provide open access material until you link to a subscription resource. These guides are particularly useful:
These books are for use in the Library only - not for loan.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
Concise Guide to APA Style by 
An EasyGuide to APA Style by 
Style Manual [Australian Govt]
Vivid real-world examples are used to present statistics in the context of its contemporary use. Viewers are guided through the wide range of statistical applications used by scientists, business owners and even Shakespeare scholars in their work and daily lives. (Free ABC account required)
This site provides support resources to accompany the iview videos above and more statistics training tools.
Khan Academy is a nonprofit with the mission to provide a free, world-class education for anyone, anywhere.
These books are available for loan from the Library:
Medical Statistics at a Glance by 
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
Medical Statistics by
This book deals with statistics in medicine in a simple way. The text is supported by abundant examples from medical data. This book aims to explain and simplify the process of data presentation. Further aspects addressed include how to design and conduct clinical trials, and how to write journal articles.
Jekel's Epidemiology, Biostatistics, Preventive Medicine, and Public Health by 
On the shelf This is a selection of some of the relevant textbooks in the Library's collection available for loan. To search the Library's complete Koha catalogue click here.
The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project by 
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by 
SPSS Survival Manual : A step by step guide to data analysis using IBM SPSS Statistics. by 
Doing a literature review in health and social care : a practical guide by 
Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance by Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by 
Research in nursing, midwifery and allied health : evidence for best practice by 
Understanding Nursing Research by Medical Statistics at a Glance by 
The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project by 
Burns and Grove's the Practice of Nursing Research by 
Research Methods in Health by 
Qualitative Data Analysis by 
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by 
Nursing and Midwifery Research by 
