adershipOur Purpose - To be leaders in health, who transform and deliver high quality, safe healthcare for all . . . We will invest, strengthen and develop our leaders to instil our organisational values, adapt and grow our culture of excellence and ensure as custodians of the health service that it is being managed in a manner that makes our community proud.
Northeast Health Wangaratta | Strategic Plan 2020-2025: Leading the Transformation
The Journal of Healthcare Leadership is an international journal focusing on leadership for healthcare professions. The journal strives to provide up-to-date trends on theoretical and best practices in healthcare, and insights into leadership progress and effective solutions to improve patient care, to both current and future healthcare leaders. Senior and trainee doctors, nurses and allied healthcare professionals, medical students, healthcare managers and allied leaders are invited to contribute to this publication.
Practice guides and resources - MARAM will support workers across the service system to better understand their responsibilities to undertake risk assessment and management, including information sharing and working collaboratively.
Information sharing guides, templates and tools - Information sharing guides, templates and tools. Resources to help you implement the Family Violence Information and Child Information Sharing schemes.
New Animation video series - The MARAM video series has been created to help support prescribed workforces better understand the MARAM reforms more broadly and the key concepts and responsibilities that apply to their role. The series covers foundational MARAM concepts and topics through 11 short videos. Topics include Structured Professional Judgement, information sharing, and evidence-based risk factors. The videos support existing MARAM guidance and provide another way to build MARAM capability.
Patient-Centered Primary Care : Getting From Good to Great by
There have been great strides made in designing the administrative structures of patient-centered care, but it is still difficult to design truly patient-centered clinical routines that the entire healthcare team can enact. There have been great strides made in designing the administrative structures of patient-centered care, but it is still difficult to design truly patient-centered clinical routines that the entire healthcare team can enact.
Leadership Skills for Licensed Practical Nurses Working with the Aging Population by
LPNs play an essential role in the patient care team and we have to ensure they receive advanced education as practitioners in healthcare settings that reach vulnerable populations such the elderly. They have been considered as the registered nurses’ right hand in acute care as well as many home-health settings. They provide basic medical and nursing care, ensure the comfort of patients, discuss health care with patients, and report the status of patients to registered nurses and doctors. But the LPNs are often expected to take on a real leadership role based on the perception that as licensed nurses they already have all the qualifications and education necessary for leadership roles. However, there is a gap in the education they receive and a limited body of literature dedicated to them. Written in honor of all LPNs, this educational textbook fills that gap. With learning objectives, review questions and scenarios, it is a valuable resource for courses for undergraduate students training to be LPNs.
Decision Making in Emergency Medicine by
Discusses the commonest types of cognitive biases, errors and barriers in emergency medicine
Presents clinical scenarios relevant to the practicing and teaching emergency doctor
Offers solutions and antidotes to some of the biases, errors and barriers discussed
Health Crisis Management in Acute Care Hospitals by
Serves as a practical guide for implementing skills necessary for crisis management
Uses lessons learned from the COVID-19 pandemic to aid in future health crises
Offers the unique perspective of being authored by those who worked directly in the field
Pocket Guide to Quality Improvement in Healthcare by
This text will act as a quick quality improvement reference and resource for every role within the healthcare system including physicians, nurses, support staff, security, fellows, residents, therapists, managers, directors, chiefs, and board members. It aims to provide a broad overview of quality improvement concepts and how they can be immediately pertinent to one's role.
Innovative Decision Making in Healthcare : A Case-Based Approach to Nursing Leadership in Academic and Clinical Setting by
Large, successful organizations only transform after failure. If everything is going well, there is a tendency not to challenge methods. It is only once things have gone radically wrong that a successful organization starts to reexamine their methods and culture. This book is about organizational leadership, but provides a unique spin to promoting innovation, inclusion and transparency among employees.
The Leader by
Behind every leader is an instructive life story. It often promotes a public image that inspires others to live by it. And, sometimes, even to live or to die for it. As leadership qualities and image issues gain significance in the public discourse, the psychological study of leadership is a critical factor in any discussion. With its trenchant insights into leaders past and present, The Leader: Psychological Essays, Second Edition, updates a pioneering text in this field and provides a solid basis for ongoing dialogue on this important subject.
Within the context of the ever-evolving disciplines of psychoanalysis and psychodynamics, this thought-provoking volume examines the lives of several prominent leaders from ancient Greece through the start of the 21st century. The authors explore how these leaders imposed their individual missions and mystiques on others, thereby fulfilling – and, sometimes, creating – distinct needs in their followers. The volume brings into vivid focus issues with the potential for devastating consequences on the global stage.
Management and Leadership - a Guide for Clinical Professionals by
This book contains a series of chapters on various aspects of management and leadership in a health care organisation, written by some of the most experienced authors from around the world. It provides an understanding of basic management and leadership skills that are essential for clinical as well as non-clinical staff in a health care organisation, in a simple and clear fashion.
Bringing Leadership to Life in Health: LEADS in a Caring Environment by
Contains real life case studies that examine leadership within a variety of health contexts
Discusses the emotional and human expectations of leadership as well as rational and logical demands
Profiles leadership requirements from specific medical roles
Leadership Skills for Licensed Practical Nurses Working with the Aging Population by
Uses an educational approach to provide practical guidelines for LPNs’ daily practice
Presents case studies, critical thinking skills, and guidance on how to apply concepts in the workplace
Fills an educational gap in skills and abilities related to leadership, management and communication
Special focus on culture change and person-directed care
Leadership in Nursing: Experiences from the European Nordic Countries by
The first-ever book fully devoted to the Nordic countries’ leadership in nursing expertise
Based on representative leadership projects in EBN practice, education and research
Authored by prestigious Nordic professors of nursing, internationally recognized in their field
Advanced Practice Nursing Leadership: a Global Perspective by
Endorsed by the International Council of Nurses
The very first global leadership book specifically for APNs
Authored and edited by prestigious key leaders from all regions of the world
Focuses on clinical, educational and policy leadership for APNs
Written by one senior leader and one emerging nurse leader in the spirit of mentoring and lifting up the next generation of APRN leaders
Leadership in Surgery by
Contains real life examples detailing different management situations
Written from a global perspective by experts in the field
Includes useful tips and tricks on leadership and management
Textbook of Medical Administration and Leadership by
A gateway text to the medical administration and leadership
Brings together for the first time content relevant to all physicians wanting to lead and manage their services better
Written by internationally recognized experts in the field of medical leadership, or specialist medical administrator
Leadership Development for Nurses and Midwives by 
The Nurse Manager's Guide to Budgeting and Finance, 3rd Edition by 
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care, Second Edition by 
Project Management for the Advanced Practice Nurse by 
Leadership by
EBSCO eBook
Leadership is an accessible introductory textbook for nursing, health and social care students seeking to develop their leadership skills. Offering practical advice underpinned by theoretical perspectives, the book will help you to understand the principles of effective leadership and apply them to your own practice.
Transformational Leadership in Nursing, Second Edition by
EBSCO eBook
This award-winning text guides nursing graduate students in developing the key skills they need to fulfill emerging leadership roles as our health care system experiences profound change and increasing complexity. The book provides a wealth of critical information, practical tools, creative vision, and inspiration that will help to facilitate leadership at the highest level of clinical practice.
Effective Nurse Leadership by
Transforming Long-Term Care provides guidance on how to build the skills necessary for leading transformation in the long-term care setting. This book also provides steps to help steer, facilitate, and implement change as well as effective methods to create a culture that is adaptable to change and encourages new ideas for person-centered care.
The Road to Leadership by
The Road to Leadership presents nine valuable leadership lessons from award-winning author and international nurse leader Carol Huston. This small, full-color book packs big wisdom from a leader who learned her lessons the hard way—and now leads others to their own paths as confident, successful leaders. From finding a mentor to learning the art of communication, this engaging book will help you break free of professional limits and define your own effective leadership skills
Evidence-Based Practice Across the Health Professions by 
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by 
Good to great : why some companies make the leap and others don't by 
Leadership in Nursing Practice: Changing the Landscape of Health Care by 
Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing by 
Leadership and Management in Healthcare by 
Organizational Culture and Leadership by 
ABC of Clinical Leadership by 
Leadership, Management and Team Working in Nursing by 
Leading and Managing in Health Services by 
Reframing Organizations by
All Victorians have the right to expect high-quality healthcare – and effective clinical governance systems are fundamental to delivering on that expectation. A 2020 review of health services found that there is more work to do to ensure clinical governance systems are driving continuous improvement towards better patient outcomes and zero avoidable harm. The Victorian Auditor-General’s Office (VAGO) released the Clinical governance: health services report in June 2021, following an audit of clinical governance at four representative health services in Victoria.
The report made 18 recommendations – some to all four audited health services, and others to one or more of the audited services.
Health Workforce Australia (HWA) closed in 2014 and functions transferred to the Department of Health (DoH). The HWA website has been archived in Pandora – an archiving website managed by the National Library of Australia.
Allied health professionals, as organisation (and system) 'connectors', have a key role to play in delivering on quality and safety, and improving health services efficiency and effectiveness.
Closing the leadership gap: gender equity and leadership in the global health and care workforce: policy action paper, June 2021 World Health Organization (World Health Organization, 2021)
Facing the future: opportunities and challenges for 21st-century public health in implementing the Sustainable Development Goals and the Health 2020 policy framework World Health Organization. Regional Office for Europe (World Health Organization. Regional Office for Europe, 2018) Although often invisible to the general public, public health delivers essential and primary public goods, protects community health, addresses risk factors which are often difficult for the public to visualize and sets ...
Building resilient sub-national health systems: Strengthening leadership and management capacity of District Health Management Teams. 1 June 2016 | Meeting report
Where the full text is not available, please request articles from the Library using the Article Request Form.
Leadership Freak | Dan RockwellDan Rockwell is a true “leadership freak”. His leadership career began with a leadership position in the non-profit world at the age of nineteen. His experience, over thirty years, includes business ownership and fifteen years as a Workforce Development Consultant for a regional Penn State Special Affiliate.
Harvard Business ReviewFind new ideas and classic advice on strategy, innovation and leadership, for global leaders from the world's best business and management experts.
Leadership Management Australia (LMA)LMA is at the forefront of leadership training and development courses across Australia.
Global Leadership Foundation | MelbourneGlobal Leadership Foundation was established to provide leadership pathways and build leadership capability for people from all walks of life.
Leading Teams | AustralianLeading Teams creates high performing leaders and teams. Read the latest on leadership and team development from our team of expertly trained facilitators on the Leading Teams blog.
Boost your knowledge with presentations, Infographics and videos from other professionals. Leadership Presentations on Slideshare
Lead Change is a leadership media destination with a unique editorial focus on driving change within organizations, teams, and individuals. It seeks to inspire readers to boldly step up and serve wherever and whenever leadership is needed, providing real and concrete advice on how to grow. Lead Change is written for and by top leadership and business professionals around the world.
How to be a great leader | TED Talks
What makes a great leader? These TED Talks offer surprising, nuanced approaches on how to inspire and empower others to do their very best.
Let's talk leadership with Ben JenkinsThe ACN Podcast with Ben Jenkins MACN is a leadership-focused podcast which features interviews with a wide-range of nurse leaders.
Australian College of Nurses | Best podcasts for busy nursesTop 10 most favourite nursing-oriented podcasts. Not all these podcasts are explicitly about nursing, however those that aren’t give insight into information relevant to nursing practice
The Engaging Leader | Jesse LaheyEngaging Leader is a podcast to help you communicate, engage, and lead with greater impact. You can become more than just a great leader; be an engager!
The Anxious Achiever | HBR | Morra Aarons-MeleRethink mental health and work, with candid stories from leaders who’ve been there. Morra Aarons-Mele is the founder of the award-winning social impact agency, Women Online, and author of Hiding in the Bathroom.
The LEADx Show | hosted by Kevin KruseThe New York Times best-selling author of Employee Engagement 2.0 interviews the hottest leadership experts five days a week. Each episode ends with the guest challenging listeners to get 1 percent better by trying out one specific idea from the show.
The Busy Leader | Quint StuderThe Busy Leader’s Podcast – A Catalyst for Inspired Action is a lively and engaging podcast hosted by Quint Studer.
Lead to Win | Michael Hyatt & Company Short-term wins are easy. Sustained achievement is another story. Discover how current research combines with timeless wisdom for lasting success. From personal productivity to personal development, self-leadership to team leadership, and intentionality to influence, get the insights and tools you need to win at work and succeed at life.
The Tim Ferris ShowTim Ferris has dedicated his life to deconstructing the routines and behaviours of world-class performers. The greatest thing about these podcasts are the tactics, tools, and routines that you can take on board – not just to enrich your professional life, but your personal life too.
WorkLife with Adam GrantHosted by organisational psychologist and TED sensation Adam Grant, WorkLife offers practical advice on how to tackle life in the workplace. Grant take listeners inside the unconventional, exploring how we can all enjoy our day-to-day work just a bit more.
In the Hour Podcast | Lolly Daskal and Jaren NicholsLolly Daskal, world-renowned executive coach and best selling author of the Leadership Gap, and Jared Nichols, futurist and Founder of The Foresight Academy, provide practical tools and profound insight about how you can take an active role in creating the kind of future you want to see. Between the two of them, they have trained and coached thousands of leaders to succeed.
The John Maxwell Leadership Podcast Taking a fresh approach to business, John Maxwell influences people to think, speak and act differently in order to positively impact their lives and others. Discussing the practices, principles and process of what it takes to be a transformational leader,
Provides access to leadership development opportunities to equip allied health professionals with the leadership skills and tools to successfully lead and contribute, alongside other disciplines, to transformational change in the system. Includes tools and resources to download.
Leadership Resources - Access the latest Leadership resources from NSW Health including the Clinical Excellence Commission. More Information
The Hardwiring Excellence program was introduced at NHW in 2011, and it is based on work by the Studer Group from the USA.
The program aims to ‘hardwire’, or embed, a set of standard practices in terms of communication, behaviour and practices that leads to excellent patient clnical outcomes, patient and staff satisfaction. Information, resources, education and tools specific to NHW's Hardwiring program are available here on the intranet (Onsite link only)
By: Lynne Mahony, MBA, MFA, Matthew Bates, MHA, Stephanie Striepeck, MBA - Evidence- Based leadership - 27 Feb, 2020
The EBL framework serves two purposes: It provides the structure for hardwiring behaviors, and it aligns the culture with the "accountability" mindset. Includes links to articles, white paper and a webinar.
The Nine Principles® were created by Quint Studer, informed by his work helping partner organizations develop a success-based organizational culture driven by evidence. They are the guiding beliefs and standards of practice that support excellence in any organization. The principles align to the Malcolm Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence. They present a guide for all professionals on the path to excellence. They identify the leader behaviors that maximize performance, support organizational excellence, and are essential to creating a success-based culture.
By Lynne Cunningham, Posted February 26, 2013 [ Article & Video ]
After spiders, snakes and public speaking, people seem most afraid of having difficult conversations. It doesn't matter if the conversation needs to occur with an employee, peer, boss, spouse or child; we all shy away from these critical communications. Why? It's likely because we don't understand the seriousness of biting the bullet and having the conversation and don't have the skills to have these difficult conversations successfully.
Schuller KA, Kash BA, Gamm LD. Studer Group® ' s evidence-based leadership initiatives. J Health Organ Manag. 2015;29(6):684-700.
CCL mission is to leverage evidence-based science to accelerate leadership performance for the benefit of society worldwide. A leadership development organization with a global focus, CCL makes some of its research (white papers, research reports, articles, and an informative blog) available for download after registration.
Aims to build capacity of individuals, groups and organizations to know their core values and lead from them everyday.A leadership training and education think tank which aims to "cultivate leadership and build capacity for change, helping communities tap collective wisdom in service of the common good." Offers free downloads of many of its publications.
A consistent organisational wide framework, that is evidence-based, collaborative and sustainable throughout NHW.
