Northeast Health Wangaratta is committed to the health and wellbeing of all our staff and students.The wellbeing of healthcare workers is critical to patient safety. While looking after the mental health and wellbeing of our healthcare workers has always been important, the recent events have made this an immediate priority. Never has it been more important to care for your own mental health and wellbeing and for your colleagues, family members or loved ones.
Pinkcast 3.01: This is how to motivate yourself when you don’t feel like exercising - Length: 114 Seconds
Increasing the ease and motivation for clinicians and all staff to raise patient safety concerns with colleagues through graded assertiveness communication skills training.
Northeast Health Wangaratta is delivering the Speaking Up for Safety Programme to all staff. Managers will be
some of the first trained in this programme, to help support staff and embed this approach within our
organisation.
The Speaking Up for Safety programme will help us:
■ achieve culture change within healthcare organisations by increasing the ease and motivation for all staff to
‘speak up for safety’
■ develop insights and skills to respectfully raise issues with colleagues when they are concerned about a
patient’s safety
From time to time you may find yourself experiencing personal difficulties. This may or may not have an adverse effect on your ability to cope with your day-to-day activities at work. Assistance is available to all NHW employees via our Employee Assistance Program (EAP) provider, Benestar, the always-on, always accessible resource that lets you take charge of your own wellbeing and become your best you.
Looking for someone to talk to? Head to MyCoach where you will find a team of professionals who support and coach individuals through everything from trauma or grief to managing teams, exercise and sleep.
Benestar provides a holistic and comprehensive health and wellbeing program to help you feel great and be your best you!
________________
To register for Benestar use NHW's login code and token that can be found on the BeneHub User Guide (onsite only) then go to the Benestar login page
________________
Download the Benestar App Brochure (onsite only)
An Employee Assistance Program (EAP) is a work-based early intervention aimed at the early identification and /or resolution of both work and personal problems that may adversely affect performance. These problems may include, but are not limited to health, marital/relationships, family, financial, substance abuse or emotional concerns. [EAPAA]
IHI Framework for Improving Joy in Work.Perlo J, Balik B, Swensen S, Kabcenell A, Landsman J, Feeley D. IHI Framework for Improving Joy in Work. IHI White Paper. Cambridge, Massachusetts: Institute for Healthcare Improvement; 2017.
GP Mental HealthBy Amanda Lyons. Reprinted from Good Practice Issue 1–2, January–February 2016
Loving-kindness meditation - boost compassion The VIA Institute on Character is a not-for-profit organisation that helps people change their lives by tapping into the power of their own greatest strengths.
9 Simple Health & Wellbeing TipsDownload this poster or view the Health and Wellbeing Toolkit - Resources for nurses, midwives and students
What is Human Factors in healthcare? NSW Govt. Clinical Excellence Commission
Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan by
Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan offers the innovative approach to care that today's patients often demand, combining traditional medicine and alternative approaches. It covers women's wellness care and specific issues during puberty through young adulthood, midlife, and old age. In addition, it provides information essential to enabling your patients to achieve their full health potential, covering wellness for special populations, physical activity and nutrition, oral health, herbal medicine and pharmacologic approaches, methods to promote healing, healthy sleep, and peaceful dying.
Physical Health and Well-Being in Mental Health Nursing: Clinical Skills for Practice by 
Physician Mental Health and Well-Being by 
Transforming the Heart of Practice by 
Psychology for Nurses and the Caring Professions by 
The Art and Science of Physician Wellbeing by 
Mindful Medical Practitioners by 
The Nursing and Midwifery Health Program toolkit is an initiative of the NMHPV Health and Wellbeing Promotion Program Pilot. The purpose of this health and wellbeing toolkit is to:
The Black Dog Institute - Evidence-informed workshops, resources and networks developed for Australian health professionals with an interest in mental health.
The RACGP encourages all GPs to take care of their own physical, mental, emotional and social health and seek support when required. Resources and services are available, specifically developed for general practitioners and health professionals, relating to self-care and mental health wellbeing. This page includes a summary of counselling and support resources.
beyondblue is an organisation that provides information, and support for, depression, anxiety, and suicide prevention. To enable a positive health outcome for people experiencing depression, anxiety and at risk of suicide Beyond Blue provides a range of free resources and training based on high quality research and clinical advice from leading experts for health professionals working in perinatal, youth, LGBTIQ+ and aged care mental health.
RACP Wellbeing support and resources. Reach out to the RACP Support Program for free, 24/7, completely confidential support.
APS Psychology topics - Explore the insights psychology and psychologists provide into challenges we face at work, at home and in society. A-Z of topics from ADHD in Adults to Stress in the Workplace
Phoenix Australia - Centre for Posttraumatic Mental Health provides free downloadable fact sheets about trauma responses and evidence-based treatments for people affected by trauma, their families and friends.
Head to Health (H2H) is a website by the Australian Department of Health that aims to help people find good mental health and wellbeing information, resources, and links to online and phone mental health services. These are hand-picked from Australia’s leading health providers, together in one place. It supports people seeking help – either for themselves or someone they care about.
Sane Australia is a national charity helping all Australians affected by mental illness. Their website provides straightforward and concise information about mental health and illness including treatments, support, how you can help yourself or someone you care about.
headspace is the national youth mental health foundation dedicated to improving the wellbeing of young Australians (12 – 25 years). Their website provides information and resources on mental health, physical health, work and study support, and alcohol and other drug services.
Reachout offers practical support, tools and tips to help young people and their families get through anything from everyday issues, tough times, mental health issues, relationships, identity, wellbeing or helping others.
Ecouch self help offers five programs: Depression, Anxiety & Worry, Social Anxiety, Divorce & Separation and Loss & Bereavement. Each program includes a comprehensive information module, as well as self-help modules with interactive exercises and workbooks which teach evidence-based strategies.
Mood Gym is a free online program designed to help people learn and practise skills to prevent and manage symptoms of depression and anxiety. It is like an interactive, online self-help book which teaches skills based on cognitive behaviour therapy.
MindSpot is a free telephone and online service developed by Macquarie University for Australian adults experiencing symptoms of anxiety or depression. They offer free online or phone screening assessments to help you learn about your symptoms. You will then receive recommendations from a MindSpot therapist on free online MindSpot Clinic Treatment Courses to help you recover, or local services that can help. Note. You must be eligible for Medicare-funded services in Australia to access Mindspot.
.
Centre for Clinical Interventions offers a range of modules that provides information on common mental health issues and practical strategies to manage these. They can be completed online, saved to your computer, or printed out to work through by hand.
This Way Up offers online courses designed to help you identify, understand, and the skills to improve psychological difficulties like stress, insomnia, worry, anxiety, and depression. You can enrol in most of their courses as self-help. Some of their courses are free – Coping with Stress, Intro to Mindfulness, Managing Insomnia. Others are low-cost at $59 for six sessions over three months. You can complete a free anonymous online questionnaire to receive recommendations for courses that may be useful to you.
Benestar is Northeast Health Wangaratta's Employee Assistance Program (EAP) provider.
The Benestar® App gives you health and wellbeing information, resources and support right at your fingertips. Focusing on seven core areas: Life, Mind, Body, Money, Relationships, Work and Family, the app provides you with access to expert advice, tips and activities to help you feel great and to be your best you!
Registration is required on the Benestar website with NHW ID and Token before accessing the app. Token available from the intranet or from these brochures - onsite only
Available for download App Store | Google Play
Calm Harm by Stem4 - provides tasks to help you resist or manage the urge to self-harm. Get started by setting your password so that it's completely private. App Store | Google Play
Clear Fear by Stem4 - uses a Cognitive Behavioural framework to help you change anxious thoughts and emotions, alter anxious behaviours and calm fear responses. App Store | Google Play
MoodMission by MoodMission Pty Ltd - helps you learn new and better ways of coping with stress, low mood, depression, and anxiety. App Store | Google Play
ReachOut Worry Time by ReachOut Australia - interrupts repetitive thinking by setting aside your worries until later, so you don't get caught up in them and can get on with your day. App Store | Google Play
Universal Breathing - Pranayama Free by Saagara - engineered to teach your body how to breathe properly. Practicing slow breathing for only 15 minutes a day can reduce stress and stress-related illnesses App Store | Google Play
Smiling Mind - a mindfulness meditation app developed by psychologists and educators. The programs are designed to assist with the pressure, stress, and challenges of daily life App Store | Google Play
MyLife Meditation (was Stop, Breathe & Think) by Tools for Peace - offers daily wellness check-ins and suggests activities personalized on how you feel. App Store | Google Play
Headspace - Stress less. Sleep soundly. Get happy. Learn the life-changing skills of meditation and mindfulness in a few minutes a day with Headspace. App Store | Google Play
Relax Melodies by iLBSoft - a sleep-aid app uniquely designed to help millions unwind & fall asleep easier. App Store | Google Play
Sleep Bug: White Noise Soundscapes & Music Box - by Arnt-Henning Moberg - an ambient sound mixer that produces a variety of scenes and music with random sound effects. App Store | Google Play
Treat- by Alfred Health - Made for health professionals by health professionals
An app designed to help you find calm, clarity and balance during your busy working day. App Store | Google Play
The Johnson & Johnson Official 7 Minute Workout App - A fast, simple, science-based way to make every minute count! App Store | Google Play
Daily Yoga - Daily Yoga inspires yogis worldwide with the largest yoga pose base. Enables you to practice yoga on all mobile devices and multiplatforms App Store | Google Play
Simply Yoga by Daily Workout Apps, LLC - Simply Yoga FREE is your own personal yoga instructor. App Store | Google Play Access: Free
Google Fit - Fitness Tracking on Google Play
Zombies Run! - Get ready for the run of your life. Join 5 million runners on an epic adventure! App Store | Google Play
Tune into the House of Wellness radio show and hear from our team of experts on all issues health, wellbeing, beauty, and lifestyle.
