This page contains a selection of the most relevant Critical Care, Intensive Care and Emergency Care textbooks available through the NHW Health Sciences Library. Book purchase suggestions for the Library are always welcome.
Graduate Certificate in Critical Care (Integrated Critical Care), University of Melbourne - Required textbooks and reading lists are available under the Reading Lists tab above.
On the shelf
This is a selection of some of the relevant textbooks in the Library's collection available for loan. To search the Library's complete Koha catalogue click here, or search for more Critical Care textbooks or Pathophysiology textbooks.
Critical Care Nursing by 
Priorities in critical care nursing by 
AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing, Fifth Edition by 
AACN Procedure Manual of Progressive and Critical Care by 
AACN Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing, Fifth Edition by 
AACN Core Curriculum for Progressive and Critical Care Nursing by 
AACN's Core Curriculum for Pediatric High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care Nursing by 
Critical Care Medicine at a Glance by 
Clinical Cases in Critical Care by 
Fundamentals of Critical Care by 
Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery by 
Emergency and Trauma Care for Nurses and Paramedics by 
The Beginner's Guide to Intensive Care by 
Critical Care Nursing by 
ECG Workout by 
Davidson's Essentials of Medicine by 
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology by 
Medical Student Survival Skills: The Acutely Ill Patient by 
Respiratory Care Anatomy and Physiology by 
Clinical Application of Mechanical Ventilation by 
ECG Workbook by 
Monash Children's Hospital Paediatric Emergency Medication Book by 
Human Physiology by 
This Medicine eBook Collection comprises over 9000 books designed to provide clinically relevant information to all members of the patient-care team, an integral part of delivering first-rate, comprehensive care. More Information
Rational Use of Intravenous Fluid in Critically Ill Patients by 
Evidence-Based Critical Care : A Case Study approach. 2nd edition by 
Emergency Department Critical Care by 
Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome by
Provides research-oriented findings and practical guidance
Covers the definition, epidemiology, pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of the disease
Each main chapter addresses a key question that has not yet been completely answered
Cardiopulmonary Monitoring : Basic Physiology, Tools, and Bedside Management for the Critically Ill by
Provides an overview of normal and abnormal cardiovascular and pulmonary physiology and applies this knowledge to patient management
Reducing Mortality in Critically Ill Patients by
The 2nd edition of this book describes the recent techniques, strategies, and drugs that have been demonstrated by multicenter randomized trials to influence survival in critically ill, defined as those who have acute failure of at least one organ, due to either a pathological condition or a medical intervention, and require intensive care treatment.
Mechanical Ventilation from Pathophysiology to Clinical Evidence by
This book aims to give a comprehensive overview of the current challenges and solution posed to the health care professionals who need to use mechanical ventilation to treat their patients.
Improving Critical Care Survivorship by 
Intubating the Critically Ill Patient : A Step-by-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU by 
eBooksIf you are offsite you will need an Athens account to access these eBooks. Link to the book in ClinicalKey then use the login on the right hand top corner and select OpenAthens login.
Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine by 
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by 
Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care by 
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care by 
Clinical Practice Manual for Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine by 
Talley and O'Connor's Clinical Examination Essentials by 
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology by 
eBooksThese books are only available online in HTML, ie. no .pdf downloads available. Search the full ClinicalKey for Nursing collection HERE.
If you are offsite you will need an Athens account to access these eBooks. Link to the book in ClinicalKey then use the login on the right hand top corner and select OpenAthens login.
Havard's Nursing Guide to Drugs by 
Clinical Companion for Medical-Surgical Nursing by 
Pudner's Nursing the Surgical Patient by 
Bailliere's Dictionary for Nurses and Health Care Workers by 
Clinical Nursing Skills and Techniques by 
Conceptual Foundations by 
Contemporary Nursing by 
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions, Revised 3rd ANZ Edition
Compact Clinical Guide to Mechanical Ventilation by 
Outcome Assessment in Advanced Practice Nursing by 
Compact Clinical Guide to Arrhythmia and 12-Lead EKG Interpretation by 
Lippincott Certification Review: Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner by 
The Advanced Practice Nurse Cardiovascular Clinician by 
EKGs for the Nurse Practitioner and Physician Assistant by All NHW eBooks are indexed by title in:
Tip: Check the box to refine your results to books
Resource Type
book (123)
Search NHW Library Catalogue for books available for loan, reference books held in departments, and selected eBooks.
