Prompt is your first stop for Clinical Reference Documents at NHW. It is NHW's document management portal for policy, procedures and guidelines and also contains forms, templates, checklists and other documents. Many of the documents simply link to an external guideline that has been adopted for use at NHW. The Prompt database can be searched from the quick links on the NHW intranet homepage. 
Registration for offsite access is available if you have access to NHW email at home.
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is NHW's preferred next stop for policy, procedure and guidelines. JBI is one of the world's leading evidence-based practice (EBP) organisations. JBI's evidence-based practice resources assist healthcare professionals to implement an effective evidence-based practice program to provide the best possible patient care.
If, after searching Prompt and JBI, you have still not found what you need, try the following databases:
No longer active. If you are looking for clinical practice guidelines, visit the Guidelines International Network – Guidelines Library.
The ACORN Practice Audit Tools (PATs) are customised spreadsheets to record evidence of clinical practice during real-time observational audits of perioperative nurses. ACORN has produced 12 PATs, grouped into two ‘bundles’, which align with the current 16th edition of Standards for Perioperative Nursing in Australia (the ACORN Standards). LOGIN Required - See Librarian, Theatre or Infection Control Managers for details. To login, use the PATs link on the left menu and then 'Log in to access Practice Audit Tools (PATs) eFile Access'
Therapeutic Guidelines provide clear, concise, independent and evidence-based recommendations for patient management that have been developed by Australia's leading medical experts.
Point of Care Tools are clinical overviews for diagnosis & treatment designed for clinicians to quickly look up information when they are with a patient. They are summaries of evidence from peer reviewed sources and are updated regularly by specialty experts. Some also contain a variety of resources from primary source (eg. Medline) searches to eBooks and eJournals, guidelines, images and videos.
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. It includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions information, and a number of medical calculators. NOTE: UpToDate Anywhere registration is available to NHW staff by registering from this link when onsite at NHW.
BMJ Best Practice is a easy-to-use decision-support tool that provides authoritative answers to clinical questions. It contains information relating to over 10,000 diagnoses, more than 3,000 diagnostic tests and over 4,000 diagnostic and treatment guidelines. At its core, Best Practice contains the internationally renowned Clinical Evidence. Drug information is provided by Martindale: the Complete Drug Reference. Martindale can be accessed via the Drugs menu or by selecting a drug when viewing a condition or symptom.
Most Primary evidence databases also have filters for a variety of publication types - Reviews, RCTs, Guidelines and so forth.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database covers the literature of nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, nutrition and dietetics, and other health-related professions.
Search NHW Library Catalogue for books available for loan, reference books held in departments, and selected eBooks.
