Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This LibGuide is designed to pull together resources relevant to Aged Care into one convenient place. Email Library@nhw.org.au to add resources to this page.
Prompt is your first stop for Clinical Reference Documents at NHW. It is NHW's document management portal for policy, procedures and guidelines and also contains forms, templates, checklists and other documents. The Prompt database can be searched from the quick links on the NHW intranet homepage. Registration for offsite access is available if you have access to NHW email at home.
Remote access to Library resources
Aged Care Resources
The Medicine eBook Collection comprises over 9000 books designed to provide clinically relevant information to all members of the patient-care team, an integral part of delivering first-rate, comprehensive care. Search the whole Springer Nature collection HERE.
Below is a collection selected relating to Aged Care:
Ageing in a Nursing Home by Proposes a new research-based model of care placing the whole person at its centre
Provides practical suggestions for improving every aspect of residential aged care
Includes personal stories from the nursing home waiting list until a resident’s death
Publication Date: 2022-04-20
Nursing Older People with Arthritis and Other Rheumatological Conditions by Provides a comprehensive discussion of the nursing assessment and management of the older adult with arthritis and related conditions
Focuses on the bio-psychosocial impact of the older adult
To be used as a practical, evidence-based advice to address the care needs of the rheumatologic older adult
Publication Date: 2020-02-18
Occupational Therapy for Older People by Describes the innovative approach of including occupational therapy in an interdisciplinary team in the management of older adults
Clarifies how occupational therapy improves the day-to-day care of older adults in different settings
Presents the current and future role of occupational therapy
Publication Date: 2020-02-01
Frailty in Older Adults with Cancer by Presents the specific components of comprehensive geriatric assessment with practical guidance on how to apply it
Discusses issues specific for each main cancer type
Provides guidance on how to develop frailty teams and pathways
Publication Date: 2022-02-16
Aspiration Pneumonia : The Current Clinical Giant for Respiratory Physicians by Offers an essential overview of aspiration pneumonia, and focuses on four major aspects: epidemiology, pathophysiology, new preventive strategies and the trending topics
Includes detailed findings and insights into critical issues for the treatment
Addresses emerging topics concerning the definition of NHCAP and sleep apnea
Represents a valuable resource for primary physicians, pulmonologists, neurologists, and geriatric physicians and surgeons
Publication Date: 2020-06-18
Covid-19 Airway Management and Ventilation Strategy for Critically Ill Older Patients by Book cover
Covid-19 Airway Management and Ventilation Strategy for Critically Ill Older Patients
Editors: Nicola Vargas, Antonio M. Esquinas
Offers practical information on how to manage older, critically ill patients
Highlights differences between suggested treatments and evidence-based data collected during the coronavirus pandemic
Provides a policy for older intensive care patients
Publication Date: 2020-08-26
Integrative Geriatric Nutrition by Offers concise review of therapeutic diets to support geriatric patients' treatment plans
Considers nutrition for older adults within the context of geriatric syndromes and integrative approaches
Written by experts in both nutrition and geriatric medicine
Publication Date: 2021-10-10
Management of Patients with Dementia by Covers issues related to dementia care, support, and policy
Highlights international perspectives in dementia care, social, and legal policy
Brings together a group of top scholars on the much debated issue of dementia care
Analyses the dynamics and complexity of dementia care
Publication Date: 2021-07-27
Leadership Skills for Licensed Practical Nurses Working with the Aging Population by LPNs play an essential role in the patient care team and we have to ensure they receive advanced education as practitioners in healthcare settings that reach vulnerable populations such the elderly. They have been considered as the registered nurses’ right hand in acute care as well as many home-health settings. They provide basic medical and nursing care, ensure the comfort of patients, discuss health care with patients, and report the status of patients to registered nurses and doctors. But the LPNs are often expected to take on a real leadership role based on the perception that as licensed nurses they already have all the qualifications and education necessary for leadership roles. However, there is a gap in the education they receive and a limited body of literature dedicated to them. Written in honor of all LPNs, this educational textbook fills that gap. With learning objectives, review questions and scenarios, it is a valuable resource for courses for undergraduate students training to be LPNs.
Publication Date: 2018-03-15
Below is a selection of some of the books relating to Aged Care held in the Library's collection and available for loan. Search the whole collection using our catalogue:
Ageing Research Reviews
Publishes critical reviews on emerging findings on mechanisms of ageing and age-related disease
Aging and Disease
Aging & Disease (A&D) is a peer reviewed, open access online journal that aspires to publish novel and high-impact findings on central issues pertaining to the biology of aging, pathophysiology of age-related diseases, and innovative therapies for diseases afflicting the elderly population.
Aging and Health Research
Aging and Health Research (AHR) is an international, peer-reviewed open access journal that publishes articles from a global research community. The aims of this journal is to establish an innovative forum of global aging and health research to advance knowledge in diverse disciplines, to promote
is a peer-reviewed, open access, interdisciplinary journal providing rapid publication of cutting-edge research from global biomedical researchers across the aging sciences.
Drugs & Aging
Drugs & Aging promotes optimum drug therapy in older adults through a program of review and original research articles covering aspects of clinical pharmacology and patient management in this important patient population. The Journal includes:
Innovation in Aging
An open access journal of The Gerontological Society of America (GSA) that publishes conceptually sound, methodologically rigorous research studies that describe innovative theories, research methods, interventions, evaluations, and policies relevant to aging and the life course.
Neurobiology of Aging
Neurobiology of Aging publishes the results of studies in behavior, biochemistry, cell biology, endocrinology, molecular biology, morphology, neurology, neuropathology, pharmacology, physiology and protein chemistry in which the primary emphasis involves mechanisms of nervous system changes with age or diseases associated with age.
The Commission assesses and monitors quality of care and services against the Aged Care Quality Standards. Information and resources are available to help service providers and consumers understand the Standards. Access the Aged Care Quality Standards resources
- Aged Care Quality Standards app - The Aged Care Quality Standards app supports you access the Quality Standards from your mobile device. It's free to download.
- Resources Library - The Commission provide a range of provider and consumer tools and resources in online and print version. Many of the provider resources available are used in the assessment and monitoring of aged care services. They include information on the applicable Standards and notices and posters notifying residents of an upcoming audit.
Victoria's ageing and aged care agenda supports policy, programs and services to meet the needs of an increasing number of older Victorians with quality care by the best health workers.
This includes supporting older Victorians’ ability to age well by optimising health and wellbeing at all life stages, addressing disadvantage and improving social participation.
- Older People in Hospital - provides clinicians with evidence-based information and simple strategies to minimise the risk of functional decline for older people in hospital. It is underpinned by the principles of person-centred practice.
The material included in Older people in hospital and the accompanying e-learning and audio visual resources are classified as informal learning opportunities. Professional health practitioners can choose to keep a detailed record of the number of hours spent on this site. This is classified as self-directed and Internet-based learning and contributes to the informal learning component of Continuing Professional Development required for ongoing accreditation.
NARI is recognised as a leading research institute in ageing including falls and balance, pain, dementia, physical activity, healthy ageing, public and preventive health, and health systems evaluation.
GEN is a comprehensive “one–stop shop” for data and information about aged care services in Australia. It reports on capacity and activity in the aged care system focusing on the people, their care assessments and the services they use.
- Dementia Australia - Representing the 487,500 Australians living with dementia and the almost 1.6 million Australians involved in their care
- Australian Ageing Agenda - An independent and authoritative bi-monthly magazine and news website for people who work in or around the broad aged services and retirement living sectors in Australia. It provides a range of objective news, analysis and opinion on ageing issues and policy, aged care and seniors housing.
- My Aged Care - providing information and support needed to understand, access and navigate the aged care system. You can access My Aged Care online, on the phone or in person.
- The National Continence Program - A healthy bladder and bowel is important for overall health. Common problems like incontinence can affect men and women of all ages.
- Residential Aged Care (RAC) Communiqué - An electronic publication containing narrative case reports about lessons learned from Coroners’ investigations into preventable deaths in Residential Aged Care settings.
- Seniors Rights Victoria - Information, support, advice & education to help prevent elder abuse.
- Continence Foundation of Australia - The national peak body promoting bladder and bowel control health.
- Aged Care Assessment - Department of Health - Victoria
- Aged care terminology - myAgedCare - Government information
- Australian Charter of Rights -- The Charter describes what consumers, or someone they care for, can expect when receiving health care.
- Aged Care Quality - online newsletter of Australian Government Aged Care Quality Agency
- HealthMatch: "Race Towards a Cure: Alzheimer’s and an Ageing Population" [Blog]
- Well Being and Participation - Department of Health - Victoria
- Aged care publications from Australian Institute of Health & Welfare - Reports and statistical data
- Aged care resources from Continence Foundation of Australia - Fact sheets and brochures
- APO Analysis & Policy Observatory: Aged care - Reports, briefing papers, guides and articles
- Ageing and aged care from Victorian Department of Health
- National Aging Research Institute (NARI) is recognised as a leading research institute in ageing including falls and balance, pain, dementia, physical activity, healthy ageing, public and preventive health, and health systems evaluation.
- The Best Practice Food and Nutrition Manual for Aged Care Facilities manual [NSW Health] has been developed to provide practical and helpful food and nutrition information for all staff of aged care especially nursing, food services and dietitians. Download .pdf (6.2 MB)
- Nourished: make every bite count - Free recipe book for aged care homes developed by Nestlé Professional in collaboration with nutrition and culinary experts to ensure meals are both appetising and nutritionally appropriate for residents. more...
- Maggie Beer Foundation - Dining in aged care free booklet. The Foundation is committed to furthering industry knowledge around food, and the dining experience in aged care to positively impact the wellbeing and quality of life of older Australians.
Other guides relevant to Aged Care:
- Infection Control - including Australian Standards and Sepsis awareness
- End-of-life - including palliative care, advanced care planning, voluntary assisted dying and donate life resources and links
- Medication - links to all the medication references - Mims, AIDH, eTherapeutic Guidelines...
JBI Aged Care Manuals
JBI Evidence-Based Carers Manual for Personal Care Workers employed in residential aged care organisations to provide care to consumers living in one of their homes and is based on Recommended Practices that relate to aged care.
JBI Aged Care Evidence-Based Practice Manual is a comprehensive resource which complements and extends from the JBI Carers Manual. Developed with industry leaders including Nursing Directors, public and private sector experts and safety and quality representatives, this manual includes evidence for advanced care needs.
| More JBI information |
NHW Health Sciences Librarian