Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NHW Library: Orientation / Services

 undefined

to Northeast Health Wangaratta. 

As a member of NHW staff, you have full access to the Library resources and the services of the Librarian.  The Library is here to support you in your professional development, with research, or simply as a quiet place to study.  

This page is designed to introduce you to the Library, but will not replace a visit to the Library, or a session with the Librarian at a later stage.

REMOTE ACCESS to NHW Library Resources

 

 

NHW staff can register for an Athens account and access Library resources from anywhere.  To register, use an NHW networked computer and register here.   You can also contact the Librarian to set up an account for you.

Important!

 Chrome logoThe Library's e-resources work best with Chrome rather than Internet Explorer.

Library Services, Resources & Forms

Where is the Library?

The Library is in 'The Chalet', the white building between Kerferd and Thomas Hogan.  The building is shared with the University of Melbourne.

How do I use the Library?

You can find books in the Library by physically visiting the Library and just browsing the shelves, or you can use the Library catalogue.  To borrow books you will need to first visit the Library, or email the Librarian, to register.  After registering you can borrow anytime using the forms just outside the office door.  Borrowing is for two weeks, renewable. 

If you need after hours access to the Library space (eg. during COVID-19), you can request the code for the Library door from the Librarian or ERU.  There is a button near the internal door that will turn on the airconditioning/heating for a couple of hours, and the lights are outside the office.  If you are the last to leave please ensure you turn off the lights.

During COVID-19:

  • When you have finished using a computer in the Library, please wipe down all surfaces using a Clinell wipe.
  • Remember:  Even if you are only going to the Library, you MUST enter the hospital grounds via the front entrance.

You can also visit the Library online and search for journal articles, books, and electronic resources.  There is a quick link for the Library on the NHW intranet page:  

There are two computer networks available in the Library - NHW and the University of Melbourne.  Stickers indicate to which network the computer is connected.  NHW staff can use the NHW computers using their NHW login details.  A printer/scanner/photocopier (WDBH_LIB_MFC) is available for staff free of charge - please only print if necessary.

Library's Online Resources:

The Library has access to a large selection of health related databases, containing an enormous amount of information.  You can search for particular databases using the A-Z database list.  Or you can search across all databases using the Discovery search that is on most pages:

Along the top of the Library's pages are tabs.  Use these tabs to navigate through the resources:

 

 

  • The Medications References tab will take you to all the pharmacology & drug related resources.
  • The Catalogue holds records of all the books in the Library collection and around the departments.  Some popular eBooks are also included.
  • The Library has all the main health related databases:  Medline, CINAHL, UpToDate, ClinicalKey and many more.  There are quicklinks on the Library's homepage or use the Database tab.
  • All the eBooks and eJournals are indexed by title under the Publication Finder tab.
    • The new Springer Nature Medicine eBook collection comprises over 9000 books designed to provide clinically relevant information to all members of the patient-care team, an integral part of delivering first-rate, comprehensive care.  
    • The EBSCO e-book collection includes more than 600 e-books designed for use by Nursing and Allied Health staff and students in hospitals. Includes clinical guides, and evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
  • There is a tab for Apps, that provides instructions on how to download apps to your devices for many of our resources - UpToDate Anywhere, MIMs, eTG Complete and others.
  • Subject Guides have been developed to collect resources in areas - Allied Health, Critical CarePaediatrics, Maternity.

Training is available from the Librarian for using the databases and for searching the literature.  If you would like some assistance, or are having any difficulties with any of the resources, please contact the Librarian.

Forms:

  • Article Request Form  Use this form to request a journal article when you do not have access to the full text.
  • Literature Search Request Form  - The Librarian is available to conduct a literature search on a topic related to patient care for clinicians or for NHW research projects. Either complete this form and submit it to the Librarian, or preferably make a time to discuss your literature needs.   Generally it is expected that students conduct their own literature searches as part of their learning. However, the Librarian can guide you towards the best resources and  provide training on searching strategies. – please organise a time with the Librarian if you wish to undertake a search together,

undefinedAny Questions?

Please contact the Librarian, Julie Day  |  email:  Julie.Day@nhw.org.au  |  mob:  0409572820


 

A-Z of Databases

For a full list of Library databases, including CHC, Government and open access databases:

Ask your Librarian

Profile Photo
Julie Day
Contact:
Email: Julie.Day@nhw.org.au
Phone: 03 57225286