LibGuides: NHW Library: Databases

A-Z of Databases

For a full list of Library databases, including CHC, Government and open access databases:

Primary Evidence Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) database covers the literature of nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, nutrition and dietetics, and other health-related professions.
CINAHL indexes many allied health related journals not covered by MEDLINE and includes citations to books, book chapters, and dissertations. There much overlap of content coverage between MEDLINE and CINAHL, but both databases should be searched to achieve comprehensive retrieval of literature related to a clinical question
EmBase This link opens in a new window The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE), produced by Elsevier, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. Coverage is from 1947 up to the present, and is updated weekly.
Informit Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Predominantly Nursing and Allied Health Australasian health information, Informit Health Collection covers more than 190 source titles, including peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, conference papers and e-books. Coverage is 100% full text and includes evidence-based healthcare extending to all nursing specialties and professions.
Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles.

Much content included in the Collection is unavailable online elsewhere and includes journals dedicated to specialist and current topics of interest including ageing and aged care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, Pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. The Ovid MEDLINE database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and in 70 other countries. The database contains over 13 million citations dating back to 1950, and is updated daily.
Medline - Ovid This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry, Veterinary medicine, Allied health, Pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. The Ovid MEDLINE database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedical journals published in the United States and in 70 other countries. The database contains over 13 million citations dating back to 1950, and is updated daily.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO is the comprehensive international bibliographic database of psychology. It contains citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

For a good outline of the difference between Medline, Embase and PubMed see this WNHS Libguide

EBM Databases of Systematic Reviews

Joanna Briggs Institute JBI
The Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) which includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. Each peer-reviewed systematic review has been prepared according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews. CDSR new and updated reviews and protocols are continuously published when ready.
OTseeker
OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability. In one database, OTseeker provides fast and easy access to information from a wide range of sources to inform occupational therapy.
PEDro
speechBITE

Discovery Search

Point of Care Tools

Point of Care Tools are clinical overviews for diagnosis & treatment designed for clinicians to quickly look up information when they are with a patient. They are summaries of evidence from peer reviewed sources and are updated regularly by specialty experts. Some also contain a variety of resources from primary source (eg. Medline) searches to eBooks and eJournals, guidelines, images and videos.

For Drug Point of Care resources - Mims, AMH, - under the Drug Resources tab at the top of this page.

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
BMJ Best Practice is a easy-to-use decision-support tool that provides authoritative answers to clinical questions. It contains information relating to over 10,000 diagnoses, more than 3,000 diagnostic tests and over 4,000 diagnostic and treatment guidelines. At its core, Best Practice contains the internationally renowned Clinical Evidence. Drug information is provided by Martindale: the Complete Drug Reference. Martindale can be accessed via the Drugs menu or by selecting a drug when viewing a condition or symptom.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey database offers access to medical and surgical books & journals, also medical videos and images.The database also includes drug monographs, clinical guidelines and patient education handouts.
Ovid Clinical Edge This link opens in a new window
Ovid Clinical Edge is a clinical, evidence-based tool that combines content from UpToDate, (Must already be logged into UpToDate.) MEDLINE, and Ovid journals. Quickly access current journal research, evidence–based guidelines, and ebooks with full-text links.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. It includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug, drug-to-herb and herb-to-herb interactions information, and a number of medical calculators. NOTE: UpToDate Anywhere registration is available to NHW staff by registering from this link when onsite at NHW.

NHW Library: Databases

A-Z of Databases

Primary Evidence Databases

EBM Databases of Systematic Reviews

EBM Databases of Systematic Reviews

Discovery Search

Combined search across eBooks, online journals, and multiple databases

Point of Care Tools